Turning leftovers into meals

As the mother of a toddler and the wife of the pickiest eater in the world, I’d like to introduce you to the world of leftovers.

I’m sure there are going to be many moms sailing in the same boat as I am. Sometimes we cook more than what is required, the kids don’t want to eat what we cook or foods are nearing their expiry date. No one likes seeing food go waste so I’d like to share what I do with left over food-

  • Leftover soup – you can use leftover soup to make doughs and make healthier version of chapatis or use it instead of water to cook rice also to make a healthier version of rice.
  • Cut fruit – in case you cut fruit and it ends up being too much or your kids just don’t end up eating them or even uncut fruit that’s going to rot soon, you can preserve them by making a homemade marmalade. Fruits like guava, strawberry, apples, peaches, pineapple, mango can be finely chopped and cooked with sugar until they become soft. Usually 20 mins on slow flame. Then add black pepper and rock salt to it. You can even use this as a condiment.
  • Leftover chicken – you can use cooked chicken to make tortillas or sandwiches the next day. Just heat oil in a non-stick pan and add mayonnaise or other condiments as per your taste and stuff them in tortillas or bread along with onions, lettuce and bell peppers.
  • Leftover cooked dals or lentils soup – any leftovers dals can always be used to knead a protein rich dough. Just add chopped onions, ginger, salt and green chillies to make delish parathas.
  • Leftover bread – or one that is nearing expiry can be used to make bread upma. Heat oil and add mustard seeds, onions and saute. Then add tomatoes and salt and pepper and cook for 5-7 minutes. Then add bread cut in small cubes.
  • Leftover boiled rice – heat oil and add onions and chopped vegetables. Cook until soft. Then add tomatoes, salt and pepper. Cook until soft, then all rice. Mix properly.

What do you do with your leftovers? Let me know if these ideas work for you.

❤️

Author: Moms Just Know

Mom of an exceedingly energetic toddler, I am keeping things in place one day at a time. I strive to provide the best of myself to bring out the best in the baby.. This blog is to connect with and learn from mothers all over the world, facts and experiences they think are worthy to share.

6 thoughts on “Turning leftovers into meals”

  1. Thank you, I’ve just been looking for information about this topic for a long time and yours is the greatest I’ve discovered till now. However, what about the conclusion? Are you sure about the source?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! Thank you so much for your comments. I must assure you on the outcome because all this is something I’ve seen my mom doing while growing up and done myself as a mom and a wife.

      Like

  2. hi!,I like your writing so a lot! percentage we keep in touch more approximately your post on AOL? I require an expert in this area to solve my problem. May be that’s you! Looking forward to peer you.

    Like

  3. Thank you, I have recently been looking for info about this subject for a long time and yours is the best I have found out so far. However, what concerning the conclusion? Are you sure concerning the supply?

    Like

Leave a comment